Quick Review: Avengers Age of Ultron

I kind of forgot to upload my quick review on Age of Ultron. Oops. I’ll try to be better on posting my movie reviews (I am currently behind on 3). In case you didn’t see my previous reviews, I make them short and simple. It’s simply my opinion on what was good about the movie, what was bad, and what my overall score is (# out of 5 stars). I LOVE to hear others opinions on films, just to see what you thought of the film, if you agree with anything I said, etc. Anyways, it’s been awhile since AOU was out so please keep that in mind for this review.

First thing I want to say is that I found the film did not capture the same excitement and thrill the first Avengers film had done. It felt too clumped and crowded, too much was pushed to make the stakes high and it simply fell apart. It didn’t help that the way they advertised the movie, particularly the trailers, did not really match the tone of the actual film. I didn’t feel like the world was going to end, there was no adrenaline as the previous film had done. I don’t know what happened but it seems the pressure of making Avengers even better than the first film was too much. Marvel, yes, has no intention of going totally dark (as Kevin Feige has stated) but even then there could have been less forced jokes. Sorry to say but that zucchini/pickle/whatever joke was a bit too far for my taste. The romance between Bruce and Natasha, I found, was far too rushed. It doesn’t mean that I disagree with the pairing, I just wish they didn’t force it in this film so much. Time could’ve been saved and it probably would’ve been less clustered feeling. I even felt disappointed in Ultron. He was a bit too comical for my taste, at some points I couldn’t take him seriously. I feel the way the film was advertised may have messed with my view of him, however, so I don’t feel too strongly on that. And the last thing, Whedon mentioned that there are four prominent female roles in the film. Where???? Black Widow and Scarlet Witch for sure. But who is the other two? Was Claudia Kim’s Dr. Cho supposed to be one? Laura Barton, Hawkeye’s wife, as well? Their roles were so minor. That’s mainly my complaint on that – we only really got two prominent female characters in the film.

Now, on to some mixed feelings of the film. Mainly with Hawkeye and his family. I still can’t figure out if I liked having his family included in the film. I felt they were purposely brought in to heighten the sense of endangerment, for Hawkeye, now that we know he has a wife who is pregnant and already has two children. Maybe they could’ve hinted at this before? But it wasn’t like I disliked Linda Cardellini in the film – she’s great. But, again, I don’t know how I felt about the addition of his family.

What I did love of the film was the relationship between Hawkeye and the Twins. It really was spectacular and I’m glad Hawkeye had more prominency in this film compared to his lack luster performance in the first film. Not to mention the actors, Aaron Taylor-Johnson and Elizabeth Olsen, had amazing chemistry as the twins Quicksilver and Scarlet Witch. The running joke between Hawkeye and Quicksilver, “you did not see that coming?,” was brilliant as well and it really did hurt when the latter was killed. I cannot explain to you how happy I was to see Vision. I may be a bit biased as Paul Bettany is one of my favorite actors, but who cares? He played a killer Vision and I thought it was hilarious when he picked up Thor’s hammer, Mjolnir. (Everyone in the theater would agree as well) Again, it’s been awhile since I’ve seen the film so I may come back to edit this a bit but that’s it for my short review! Scroll below to look at the public’s ratings as well as mine and let me know what YOU thought of the film!

Current ratings:

IMDb: 7.9/10 (users)

Rotten Tomatoes: 74%

Critics Consensus: Exuberant and eye-popping, Avengers: Age of Ultron serves as an overstuffed but mostly satisfying sequel, reuniting its predecessor’s unwieldy cast with a few new additions and a worthy foe.

Metacritic: 66%

Mine: 3.5/5 stars

Leave a comment